What Song am I Singing?

Image

I’ve been awakened the last few mornings by a songbird.  Ordinarily I enjoy slowly emerging from sleep as a cool breeze wafts through the window and the birds sing their happy morning songs. This particular bird, however, sings only the same note.  One note only.  Over.  And over.  And over.  Maybe it’s the only song he has.  But at 5:30 a.m., it gets annoying really fast.  

This morning I was laying in bed listening to this bird, it occurred to me that sometimes I am like this little guy.  I say the same things over and over again, to the Lord, to my friends, to anyone who will listen.  “Why? Why am I not married?  Why don’t I get what I want?  Why doesn’t the Lord answer my prayers? When? When will it be my turn?”  And while I don’t want to minimize the difficulty I experience at times, and the fact that the Lord is big enough for all of my questions (even the ones I ask over and over again!), I have to ask myself if my song is all about me and how I am never satisfied.  I sing the same note every day, when, if I would only take my eyes off myself for a moment and look around, I would see so many things to praise God for, so many reasons for thanks and for joy.  How would my attitude change if, even if I didn’t feel like it, I raised my voice in praise and thanks to the Lord for the amazing things He’s done for me?

Now when I wake up in the morning and that lovely little bird is chirping outside my window, I hope I won’t be tempted to complain or to bemoan the things I dislike about my present circumstances, but rather I will be reminded to sing a song of praise, to open my mouth with encouragement for those around me.  I can be a song of joy or an annoying chirp of selfishness. Which will it be?

Leave a Reply

